Pantera releasing 20th anniversary reissue of ‘Vulgar Display of Power’

It’s not often we here at Death and Taxes cover metal; unless, of course, the news deals with odd collaborations such as Metallica and Lou Reed. When it comes to Pantera, though, we shall report dutifully.

On February 25, 1992, Pantera released the album “Vulgar Display of Power,” a landmark heavy metal album that combined virtuosic musicianship and aggressive lyrics into a whirlwind of raw power. The album is perhaps most famous for the songs “Walk” and “This Love,” but also the tracks “Mouth For War” and “Fucking Hostile.” Hell, the entire album rocks.

According to Rhino, a label specializing in reissues, the “Vulgar Display Of Power” reissue will also include the previously unreleased track “Piss,” which is described as “an incendiary blast of vintage Pantera from the original recording sessions that had long been forgotten until Paul recently discovered it in the band’s vault.” (Below, check out a video that was recently created for the song, which debuted at the Revolver Golden Gods Awards.)

But, wait, there’s more! Also included in the reissue is Pantera’s “Walk” EP.  Previously released in Japan in 1993, the six-track EP includes two “Cervical” remixes of “Walk” by J.G. Thirlwell and “Biomechanical” remixes of both “Fucking Hostile” and “By Demons Be Driven” by Justin K. Broadrick of the bands Jesu and Godflesh.  The EP also includes live cuts of two tracks from Pantera’s previous album “Cowboys From Hell”: the title track and “Heresy,” which were recorded live in Moscow at the Monsters Of Rock in 1991. Oddly, this is the first time the “Walk” EP has been made available in the U.S.

And for D+T’s metalheads, Vinnie Paul (Pantera’s drummer) will be a featured guest on That Metal Show on VH1 Classic at 11PM ET/PT this Saturday, May 19th . He’ll be sitting down with hosts Eddie Trunk, Jim Florentine, and Don Jamieson to “discuss the 20th Anniversary of Vulgar, the new track “Piss,” as well as some details on his upcoming album with “HELLYEAH.”

Track Listing

1. “Mouth For War”
2. “A New Level”
3. “Walk”
4. “Fucking Hostile”
5. “This Love”
6. “Rise”
7. “No Good (Attack The Radical)”
8. “Live In A Hole”
9. “Regular People (Conceit)”
10. “By Demons Be Driven”
11. “Hollow”
12. “Piss” – Previously Unreleased

1. “Mouth For War” – Live In Italy
2. “Domination/Hollow” – Live In Italy
3. “Rise” – Live In Italy
4. “This Love” – Live In Italy
5. “Cowboys From Hell” – Live In Italy
6. “Mouth For War” – Video
7. “This Love” – Video
8. “Walk” – Video

Track Listing

1. “Walk (Cervical Edit)”
2. “Fucking Hostile (Biomechanical Mix)”
3. “By Demons Be Driven (Biomechanical Mix)”
4. “Walk (Cervical Dub Extended)”
5. “Cowboys From Hell (Live)”
6. “Heresy (Live)”