Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces 2013 inductees, Kraftwerk and N.W.A. snubbed

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame includes so many great artists of years past. From the Beastie Boys to Chuck Berry, many great performers spanning generations and genres have been rewarded for their contribution to contemporary music. It also yearly culminates with great performances from some of the best artists ever.

Which is why it’s to my serious distaste that Kraftwerk and N.W.A were left out this year, arguably the most influential groups in their respective genres. Kraftwerk changed how we see techno music entirely. They single-handedly inspired most great modern-day electronic musicians. N.W.A changed the landscape of rap, making the west coast relevant again. What would today’s hip-hop look like without Eazy-E and Ice Cube?

Heart, Albert King, Randy Newman, Public Enemy, Rush, and Donna Summer will be receiving the awards this year. Not to say that any of these artists do not deserve it, but it is hard to make an argument that any of those artists influenced modern day music as much as Kraftwerk and N.W.A.

This could be part of why, when Guns N’ Roses was nominated for Hall of Fame membership last year Axl Rose simply said, Nah.

The 28th Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction ceremony will take place April 18, 2013 in Los Angeles and will air on HBO sometime in early May.